Thought (2015)


Instrumentation: Soprano, Alto Flute, Harpsichord (alt: Piano), and Two Percussionists
Duration: 12:00
Text by: Walt Whitman
Availability: Downloadable PDFs (Score & Individual Parts)

Commissioned by The Riot Ensemble




For optimal quality, please click the button in the lower right corner of the image to view in full screen mode.

Thought is based on a short eponymous text by Walt Whitman from his collection Leaves of Grass. He authored many epigrammatic writings of that name, each dealing with a different moral or philosophical issue that was important to him. He wrote on topics including nature, ownership, spirituality, justice, and more. This work, commissioned by the Riot Ensemble, is a meditation on one of those texts.

You may also like…